

#### **Contacts**

Kim A. Barton
Supervisor of Elections
Alachua County
kbarton@alachuacounty.us

Thomas "TJ" Pyche
Director of Communications
and Outreach
Supervisor of Elections
Alachua County
tjpyche@alachuacounty.us
Cell: 352-275-9404

#### **Address**

Josiah T. Walls Building 515 North Main Street Suite 300 Gainesville, FL 32601

Tel: 352-374-5252 Fax: 352-374-5264

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

# Candidates for 2020 Presidential Preference Primary, City of Gainesville Regular Election

ALACHUA COUNTY, Fla. (Dec. 13, 2019) — Sixteen Democrats and four Republicans were placed on the ballot for the 2020 Presidential Preference Primary, which will take place on March 17.

Florida is a closed primary state, meaning only voters who are registered members of political parties may vote for respective party candidates or nominees for an office in a primary election. This is a countywide election.

Additionally, eight candidates qualified to run in the 2020 City of Gainesville Regular Election. At-Large Seat 2 will appear on all City of Gainesville voters' March 17 ballots (along with any party contests the elector is qualified to vote in), while the District 2 and District 3 contests will appear only on the ballots of those who live within the respective districts.

The candidates whose names were placed or who have qualified to have their name appear on the ballot, as well as the contest in which they are running, are listed below.

## Florida Democratic Party Nomination for President of the United States

Michael Bennet
Joe Biden
Deval Patrick
Michael R. Bloomberg
Bernie Sanders
Cory Booker
Joe Sestak
Pete Buttigieg
Tom Steyer
Julián Castro
Bizabeth Warren
John Delaney
Marianne Williamson

Tulsi Gabbard Andrew Yang

SPACE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK



## Republican Party of Florida Nomination for President of the United States

Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente Donald J. Trump Joe Walsh Bill Weld

## City of Gainesville Commission At-Large Seat 2

Scherwin L. Henry
2336 NE 3rd Place
Gainesville, FL 32641
352-214-3316
352-377-5235
henry.scherwin@gmail.com

Gabe H. Kaimowitz 4411 SW 34th Street, #1305 Gainesville, FL 32608 352-375-2670 gabrielhillel@gmail.com

Paul Rhodenizer 309 NW 25th Street Gainesville, FL 32607 352-494-0628 prhodenizer@gmail.com

Reina Elisa Saco 3431 NW 21st Drive Gainesville, FL 32605 305-495-8058 votereinasaco@gmail.com

SPACE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK



## City of Gainesville Commission District 2

David Walle PO Box 357191 Gainesville, FL 32635 352-328-9384 dbwalle@gmail.com

Harvey Ward Jr. PO Box 12941 Gainesville, FL 32604 352-214-4233 hlwardjr@gmail.com

## City of Gainesville Commission District 3

David Arreola 318 SW 27th Street Gainesville, FL 32607 352-514-7224 davidarreola1@gmail.com

Jennifer Reid 720 SW 34th Street, #H85 Gainesville, FL 32607 352-281-6022 reidforgainesville@gmail.com

The list of candidates for the City of Gainesville Regular Election and additional information can also be found at <a href="https://www.votealachua.com/Candidates-Parties-Committees/Candidates-For-Office">https://www.votealachua.com/Candidates-Parties-Committees/Candidates-For-Office</a>. Information on the Presidential Preference Primary candidates is available at <a href="https://dos.elections.myflorida.com/candidates/CanList.asp">https://dos.elections.myflorida.com/candidates/CanList.asp</a>.

The voter registration deadline for this election and the party affiliation change deadline for the Presidential Preference Primary is Feb. 18, 2020.

For more information, go to VoteAlachua.com or call the Supervisor of Elections at 352-374-5252.

###