# VOTER INFORMATION

#### **BECOME AN ELECTION WORKER**

Join our special group of civic-minded citizens who are trained and ready to perform a **paid**, valuable community service by assisting voters at the early voting sites and at the polling places on **Election Day**.

If you are interested, call our office or apply on our website (VoteAlachua.gov).

Requirements: Be a **citizen** of the United States; **registered** to vote in Alachua County; able to speak, read, and write in **English**; have **transportation** to the polls; able to work from 6 a.m. until after the polls close at 7 p.m. on Election Day.

#### **VOTING IN PRIMARY ELECTIONS**

Florida is a **Closed Primary State**. In Primary Elections, you may only vote for the candidates of the political party with which you are registered. Party changes must be submitted no later than **29 days** prior to the Primary Elections.

#### **2024 ELECTION DATES**

March 19, 2024: Presidential Preference Primary

Last day to register to vote or change party affiliation: February 20, 2024

August 20, 2024: Primary Election

Last day to register to vote or change party affiliation: July 22, 2024

November 5, 2024: General Election

Last day to register to vote: October 7, 2024

#### **WAYS TO VOTE**

- Vote by Mail
- Vote Early at an Early Voting Location
- Vote at Your Precinct

Florida law requires that you be registered to vote at least 29 days prior to an election.

Register to vote or update your address, name or signature online at **VoteAlachua.gov** 

#### WHAT TO BRING TO THE POLLS

You are required to present picture and signature identification before voting. A Florida Driver's License, a Florida ID card, a U.S. Passport, debit or credit card, military or student ID, retirement center or neighborhood association ID, public assistance ID, Veterans Health ID card, concealed weapons license, or government employee ID will be accepted by election officials.

You may use **two forms of identification, one with a signature and one with a photo,** to meet this requirement. If you do not present proper identification, you will be required to vote on a provisional ballot.

#### INFORMATION FOUND ON OUR WEBSITE

- How we vote in Alachua County and the voting equipment used.
- How to find your Precinct and Polling location.
- How to request a Vote-by-Mail ballot.
- How to check your Vote-by-Mail status.
- Early Voting dates, times, and locations.
- How to access your sample ballot and more.



office: 352-374-5252 fax: 352-374-5264 Josiah T. Walls Building 515 N. Main Street, Suite 300 Gainesville, FL 32601-3348 VoteAlachua.gov

## WHAT SEATS WILL BE ON THE 2024 BALLOT?

### **ELECTED OFFICIALS: COUNTY-WIDE**

**County Commission - Term Length: 4 Years** 

District 1 | Incumbent: Mary Alford District 3 | Incumbent: Anna Prizzia

District 5 | Incumbent: Charles "Chuck" Chestnut, IV

School Board - Term Length: 4 Years (Nonpartisan)

District 2 | Incumbent: Diyonne McGraw District 4 | Incumbent: Leanetta McNealy

Alachua County Judge - Term Length: 6 Years (Nonpartisan)

Group 2 | Incumbent: Meshon T. Rawls

**Constitutional Officers - Term Length: 4 Years** 

Clerk of the Circuit Court | Incumbent: J.K. "Jess" Irby Property Appraiser | Incumbent: Ayesha Solomon

Sheriff | Incumbent: Emery Gainey

Supervisor of Elections | Incumbent: Kim A. Barton

Tax Collector | Incumbent: John Power

Soil and Water Conservation District - Term Length: 4 Years

Seat 2 | Incumbent: Archie Matthews Seat 4 | Incumbent: Patrick Sell

#### **ELECTED OFFICIALS: STATE & FEDERAL**

Florida's Eighth Judicial Circuit: State Attorney and Public Defender - Term Length: 4 Years (Nonpartisan)

Public Defender | Incumbent: Stacy A. Scott State Attorney | Incumbent: Brian Kramer

Florida's Eighth Judicial Circuit: Judges - Term Length: 6 Years (Nonpartisan)

Group 3 | Incumbent: Susanne Wilson Bullard

Group 5 | Incumbent: Denise Ferrero Group 8 | Incumbent: Gloria Walker

Florida State House of Representatives - Term Length: 2 Years

District 10 | Incumbent: Robert Charles "Chuck" Brannan, III

District 21 | Incumbent: Yvonne Hayes Hinson

District 22 | Incumbent: Charles Wesley "Chuck" Clemons, Sr. (term limited)

#### Federal Government - Term Length: 4 Years

President and Vice President of the United States | Incumbents: Joseph R. Biden and Kamala Harris

United States Senator | Incumbent: Rick Scott (6-year term)

Congressional District 3 Representative | Incumbent: Kat Cammack (2-year term)